Superior Books to Read this September

There is nothing like sitting down with a cup of tea and enjoying that rare moment to yourself. We invite you to join the Central West Mums Book Club which is kindly sponsored by Collins Booksellers Orange.

To join you will need to:

  1. Subscribe here and select the Book Club tick box.
  2. Read this month’s Feature Book, I Give My Marriage A Year’ by Holly Wainwright.
  3. Join the discussion and analysis with fellow Central West Mums members online.
  4. Event details will be sent to our Book Club members via email, including an invitation to register for a virtual 1-hour discussion via Zoom every 8 weeks, and posted under our Events page.

Subscribe Now

This Month’s Feature Book

I Give My Marriage a Year – Holly Wainwright.

Lou and Josh have been together for 14 years. They share two kids, a mortgage, careers and plenty of history. Now, after a particularly fraught Christmas, Lou is ready to ask herself: is this marriage worth hanging on to?

Every month for a year, Lou sets a different test for their relationship – from daily sex to brutal honesty – to help her decide if she should stay or go. Secrets are exposed, old wounds reopened and a true-to-life suburban love story unfolds.

I Give My Marriage a Year paints a sharply accurate, often hilarious picture of a modern Australian marriage. Lou and Josh are a couple on the edge, and their efforts to bring their relationship back from the brink will resonate with anyone who has ever asked themselves: is this enough?

Whose side will you take? Who deserves a second chance? And will Josh and Lou stay together or split for good?

Other books to read this month:

The Lying Life Of Adults – Elena Ferrante

A powerful new novel set in a divided Naples by Elena Ferrante, the beloved best-selling author of My Brilliant Friend.

‘Two years before leaving home my father said to my mother that I was very ugly. The sentence was uttered under his breath, in the apartment that my parents, newly married, had bought in Rione Alto, at the top of Via San Giacomo dei Capri. Everything – the spaces of Naples, the blue light of a very cold February, those words – remained fixed. But I slipped away, and am still slipping away, within these lines that are intended to give me a story, while in fact I am nothing, nothing of my own, nothing that has really begun or really been brought to completion: only a tangled knot, and nobody, not even the one who at this moment is writing, knows if it contains the right thread for a story or is merely a snarled confusion of suffering, without redemption.’

Giovanna’s pretty face has changed: it’s turning into the face of an ugly, spiteful adolescent. But is she seeing things as they really are? Into which mirror must she look to find herself and save herself?

She is searching for a new face in two kindred cities that fear and detest one another: the Naples of the heights, which assumes a mask of refinement, and the Naples of the depths, which professes to be a place of excess and vulgarity. She moves between these two cities, disoriented by the fact that, whether high or low, the city seems to offer no answer and no escape.

The Good Teacher – Petronella McGovern

From the bestselling author of Six Minutes, comes a fast-paced, heart-stopping thriller full of gripping tension, twists and turns.

A good teacher can change lives…

Every evening, Allison watches her husband’s new house, desperate to find some answers. Every morning, she puts on a brave face to teach kindergarten. She’s a good teacher, everyone says so – this stalking is just a tiny crack in her usual self-control.

A late enrolment into her class brings little Gracie. Allison takes the sick girl under her wing, smothering Gracie with the love she can’t give her own son. When Gracie has a chance to go to America for treatment, Allison whips up the community into a frenzied fundraising drive.

But as others start to question her judgement and the police arrive at her door, Allison wonders if she can trust herself. Has she crossed a line?

How far will the good teacher go to save a life? And whose life will that be?

An intriguing tale of our times about kindness and betrayal, and the danger of good deeds.

The Last Migration – Charlotte McConaghy

For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds – and her own final chance for redemption. A dark past. An impossible journey. The will to survive. How far you would you go for lov e? Franny Stone is determined to go to the end of the earth, following the last of the Arctic terns on what may be their final migration to Antarctica. As animal populations plummet and commercial fishing faces prohibition, Franny talks her way onto one of the few remaining boats heading south. But as she and the eccentric crew travel further from shore and safety, the dark secrets of Franny’s life begin to unspool. A daughter’s yearning search for her mother. An impulsive, passionate marriage. A shocking crime. Haunted by love and violence, Franny must confront what she is really running towards – and from. The Last Migration is a wild, gripping and deeply moving novel from a brilliant young writer. From the west coast of Ireland to Australia and remote Greenland, through crashing Atlantic swells to the bottom of the world, this is an ode to the wild places and creatures now threatened, and an epic story of the possibility of hope against all odds.

Step By Step with Marley Spoon – Olivia Andrews

Learn to cook, step-by-step, the top 100 tried-and-tested recipes from food-lovers’ favourite meal kit service.

Learn to cook the top 100 rated recipes from meal-kit kings Marley Spoon.

Marley Spoon is famous for taking the guesswork out of a delicious dinner. All their recipes are designed by expert chefs and presented in 6 clear, easy-to-follow steps.

Now for the first time they’ve brought together 100 of their most popular recipes, as rated by customers, for you to try. Each recipe has been specifically tailored to serve 2 or 4 people, and the collection includes old and new favourites such as Lamb and Thyme Pasta, Baked Chicken Paella and Chilli Pork Ramen. From Vegetarian, Healthy and Family Friendly to Super Fast and Gluten Free meals, this book covers all the bases, as well as providing menu plans and shopping lists to help you make the best use of the ingredients you buy.

Step by Step with Marley Spoon is the ideal teach-yourself-to-cook guide to help build your confidence and repertoire in the kitchen.

The Central West Mums Book Club is
proudly sponsored by Colins Booksellers
230 Summer Street Orange.

+1